A Busy Week

Please excuse the length of time between posts.  I did get out painting en plein air twice, but I spent quite a bit of my computer time working some bugs out of the way images display on this site, instead of writing.  Some of the photos needed a bit of extra editing, and changing most of them to PNGs seems to have worked wonders, although it made the file sizes a little bit bigger.

If things still look weird to you, please use the contact form to let me know.  I do already know, however, that there is still an issue with scrolling through the images in the gallery in slideshow mode on some smartphones, mine included.

On Tuesday I went down to Edworthy Park and painted this at the beginning of the Douglas Fir Trail:

Beginning of the Trail

And on Wednesday I spent almost two hours by a small waterfall in Big Hill Springs Provincial Park, painting this:

Butterflies at Big Hill Springs

I’ll be adding the first to the gallery when I have a good batch of plein-air paintings to post, but not the second.  I’m still trying to work out how to deal with color distortions, and choice of subjects.  I was so preoccupied with trying to create the perfect green (which I then buried under that layer of phthalo), and thinking ahead about the brushwork in the waterfall, I didn’t give much thought to the composition.  Besides, this little guy kept landing on my canvas!  There wouldn’t have been butterflies in the painting if it hadn’t been for him:

butterfly

For the greens in the first painting, I relied heavily on chrome oxide green, which is a very opaque color.  I like using it, and I’m pleased with how it turned out, but I think something more transparent might be better suited to capturing the effects of sunlight filtering through leaves.  To that end, I picked up a tube of the yellow shade of phthalo green from the art supply store.

I think I see another color-themed post in the near future.  The coming week looks like the weather might be iffy, so I’ll also be doing some more work in the studio.

This novice artist welcomes comments and conversation, but please keep it polite. Inappropriate or offensive comments may be edited or deleted.

