An Important Announcement

It’s been six days since I last posted, and that’s better than I’ve done for some time now.  It’s still quite a bit short of what I intended to do when I started this blog.  However, twice a week is clearly not happening.  I’d like to scale back to once a week, and here’s why.

I’m not terribly busy at the moment, although with continuing education courses and the possibility that I may soon start a second job while still trying to keep up some volunteer work.  One of those jobs is retail, so November and December can get crazy.  (My schedule is also quite irregular, so I can’t predict what day of the week I’ll have time to post.)  I will probably also attempt NaNoWriMo for the eighth time (I’ve finished it once)—but right now, I do have some time on my hands.

No, I think the problem I’m having right now is that I started this blog while I was on something of a creative high, which I have to acknowledge is not my normal state.  Things are humming along nicely, but I don’t have the same enthusiasm for it that I did, so it’s become more important that I pace myself.

Secondly, I want my posts to be good.  More substantial.  I enjoy writing about art history, but not on the kind of deadlines I’ve set myself up for.  J. M. W. Turner (my next subject) deserves a more thorough treatment than I’d be able to give if I had to post about him on Saturday.

It might even be possible for me to build up some lead time, so my posts are ready before I need them, although I thought posting twice a week would give me time to do that.

We’ll see.  Starting next Tuesday.

This novice artist welcomes comments and conversation, but please keep it polite. Inappropriate or offensive comments may be edited or deleted.

