November Approaches

Remember what I said a while back about doing NaNoWriMo?  I spent a big chunk of yesterday working on an outline.  If anyone’s wondering,yes, it’s a Napoleonic-era sea story.  However, it has very little bearing on the other things I post about on this blog, so apart from some word-count updates, I don’t intend to say much about it.

Thing is, blogging and NaNoWriMo both take time.  So do a lot of other things.  Consequently, my posts in November might be quite short.  There might be book excerpts, but not from my novel.  There will, however, still be painting updates, like this one:

Cascade easel 2

I think Mount Cascade has hit the ugly stage.  I can’t decide whether I like the colors and textures on the upper reaches of the mountain or not, and it’ll be hard to say one way or the other until I’ve worked up those lower cliffs a bit more.  However, I’m really enjoying this one! I’m combining the more traditional grisaille-and-glaze approach with the knife work that I find to be so much fun.  I really lost track of time while I was painting yesterday afternoon.  Three hours flew by without my noticing, and I was sorely tempted to blow-dry the paint so I could add another layer.  Sunday was similar, except that I was painting in the evening, so I ended up going to bed a lot later than I planned.

Remember, it’s three feet tall.  My easel doesn’t adjust for height, so I’ve been standing on a stool to reach the upper third or so of the canvas.

This novice artist welcomes comments and conversation, but please keep it polite. Inappropriate or offensive comments may be edited or deleted.

