Summer Memories: July and August Plein Air

I was in denial for a while, but the September snowstorms put an end to that.  Summer was over a while ago, and with it the life of one ornamental crabapple tree and one lombardy poplar in my yard and countless other trees around Calgary.

So what did I do this summer?

Before I answer that question, I have an announcement to make.

My sister is married!  At the end of September we drove out to a part of the Rockies I’d never seen before, for an elegant ceremony in a rustic setting—the camp where the bride and groom met.  Everything went extremely well—the sun came out for the photos, the food was awesome, and the speeches were short and sweet so that everyone (my parents included) could get dancing!  It was wonderful to see how much Jennifer and Logan enjoyed their big day, after months of stressful preparations.  They are great people who I’m sure will bring the same sense of adventure to their life together as they did to their wedding, and I wish them all the best and am delighted to welcome Logan to the family.

Now…summer was a bit of a blur, but I did go on a few adventures and do a bit of plein-air painting.

Early in July, I went camping for four days in Kootenay National Park.  While I was there, I took the short hike to the Paint Pots to find this view of Vermilion Peak:

vermilion

On the August long weekend, I braved some rain to get to Elbow Lake, where the sun came out while I painted the lake and the southern tip of Mount Elpoca.

elbow lake

Both of these trips kind of feel like they never happened right now, although I have the paintings to prove that they did (and will be posting them on the Plein Air page shortly).  I’m planning on posting some more “Summer Memories” entries over the next few weeks, and hopefully my schedule will soon quiet down, I’ll get my current WIP past the ugly stage, and I’ll have some updates from the studio to post.

This novice artist welcomes comments and conversation, but please keep it polite. Inappropriate or offensive comments may be edited or deleted.

